• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    August 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,186 hits

A masterchef experience.

The scene was set. Lunch overlooking a world class winery in the Margaret River region, having just spent 90 minutes at the hands of a masseuse. My idea of  heaven.

Homme and I were so excited to be sharing a late lunch, no interrruptions in conversation, no cooking, no washing up. I was so looking forward to a quality experience and that is exactly what we got.

We were seated by the window overlooking the grounds and vineyards of Vasse Felix Winery.

The wait staff were pleasant and attentive and well dressed (no midriffs to greet me at eye level). They filled our water glasses and gave us complimentary sparkling wine on arrival. We oohed and aaahed over the menu and when our meals arrived, well spaced, were were like kids in a candy shop. It was just like Masterchef. The servings were just the right amount to make you want to lick your plate clean but have room for another course. We indulged and each had all three courses over a two hour lazy lunch. Enjoyed with local wine and even dessert wine to finish off a fantastic meal.

I wish I had brought a menu home with me as I can’t remember the exact titles of the meals. I also wish I had remembered to take photos BEFORE this little piggy tasted everything.

Let me whet your appetitites……..

My entree was an artichoke and goat’s cheese tart. It had the best pastry ever. I know understand what they mean when they describe the perfect pastry. Homme devoured a plate of yabbies and lots of other yummies.

My main was slow cooked lamb (18 hours) and homme went for the beef cooked three ways. Oh my.

Although we avoid sugar, we tempted fate and ordered dessert. The sizing was perfect, and I didn’t suffer a sugar headache (unlike the day before from a coleslaw dressing).

I ordered rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb. Yes, a small tart, icecream and mousse. Homme went for the deconstructed cheesecake. See, the filling is shaped in a tube, just like Masterchef!

This meal excelled in so many areas, service, food and atmosphere. Made perfect by the fact it was just the two of us.

One Response

  1. The food looks amazing! So glad you didn’t suffer a sugar headache. But so glad you were able to enjoy all that was offered!

    xx

Leave a Reply

