• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    August 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,254 hits

Let the celebrations begin!

I believe in Birthdays. I believe that they should be celebrated. I once attended a conference and the speaker said that if bithdays are important to you, then you should arrange your own birthday parties so as not to be disappointed.

We celebrate Birthday Weeks in our house. I am sure that everyone is over it completely when it is my Birthday week.

Well birthday week started early for me today. A small group of girlfriends organised a morning tea for me and I had the best time catching up over French Earl Grey tea, homemade sausage rolls and apple tarts, chocolate brownie with chocolate fudge sauce and raspberries and rocket, pear and blue cheese for starters. (all fructose free)

Our hostess is almost at the end of a long renovation to her weatherboard home and I oohed and aahed over her brand new French Provincial kitchen/laundry. And also her divine new wallpaper  behind her bed. I am so addicted to wallpaper at the moment, I may need to add it to my to do list.

When it came time to sing Happy Birthday, our hostess decided to play her guitar. Now she has only been learning for a year and needed to google the chords first. With laptop in front of her, she strummed away, and all the girls sang. There were tears of laughter from all of us, as SJ had a couple of pregnant pauses in the song and my friends held the notes. Location situation, but imagine:

“Happy birthday to Youuuuuuuuuuu, Happy Birthday to Youuuuuuuuu, Happy Birthday dear Vanessaaaaaaaaa (pause as laughter takes over)………Happy Birthday toooooooo You.”

It was hilarious, and very special. I don’t think I have ever had anyone play a song just for me.

 

 

3 Responses

  1. That sounds absolutely wonderful, Vanessa and seeing you in the group photo makes me realise that your daughter Miss I is the spitting image of you! Happy Birthday!

  2. Happy Birthday Vanessa! That is so gorgeous your friend playing her guitar just for you. And you’re right, if you want to celebrate, it has to be organised solely by you!

    xx

  3. Dear Vanessa
    I want to wish you a very happy birthday for tommorow. I think of you often and occasionally get onto your bog to see what you are up to. It always makes me thrilled to see how well you write, how rich your life is and how many lovely friends you have in your life. I am not sure of your email address as the last one I sent never saw a reply – so I thought it safer to send a message via here. Would love to speak with you soon for a long overdue catch up. Love to all of you but special birthday wishes to you from your old friend JulesXXX

Leave a Reply

