• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,098 hits

Colour me june week 4

The end of June is almost here. The mild weather we experience in Perth is one of the many reasons I love this City. No sub zero temps to speak of as yet. The rain is heavy when it comes, followed by days of sunlight.

As I drove miss i to school at 6.45am yesterday morning, there was a strong, blustery, yet warm wind (the temp was 19 degrees!) There was a sense of anticipation in the air as we were expecting a wild storm to hit the City early to mid morning. But at 6.45am there was a spectacular pink/orange sunrise casting a glow around us.

On my second school run at 8am it was grey and pouring with rain. Heavy, wet, drippy rain lasted all day. Luckily the wind had abated and the storm never arrived. It still wasn’t cold, but it was puddle forming wet. Master x and I abandoned our trip to the library in favour of building with blocks and playing games indoors, as well as finishing the ironing.

This morning, the blue sky is back and the earth is heavy with water. Perfect.

My last rainbow collage for the month is slightly lacking in photos – I forgot most days to snap pictures. But what I have captured are the first daffodils to flower in the garden. Theses bulbls have been in the ground for three years and I love the surprise of seeing them reappear each year. But mid winter? I was afraid yesterday’s predicted storm was going to flatten them, just 24 hours after they had appeared!

Notice all of the buds on my roses? Again, don’t they know it is time to rest? Be dormant? I guess they protect themselves through our extreme Summer and now is their time to shine. We have been fortunate enough to have been given lots of home grown oranges and mandarines lately. We always seem to have a huge bowl one day, and none the next!

So, playing along with Flis, here is my last collage of colour for June.

Leave a Reply

