• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,098 hits

Light of my life

From street level, one has to walk up 11 steps to reach ground level of our home. When we first moved in, we had new fencing installed, and had the worn and cracked paths and steps repaved. At night, the steps are dark and dangerous. It took me quite awhile to work out what kind of lighting I wanted for the area, and last week I had it installed. A period style  street lamp, which I truly adore.

 

It sits elegantly at the top of the stairs providing much needed light which until now has been cast by a classy set of fairy lights along the fencing. While the electrician was at work, I tidied up the verge and finished painting the metal rolladoor from faded federation green, to shale grey. I planted s row of lillipillies to soften the 8 foot limestone wall (and provide fodder to my kids who can’t devour enough of the fruit).

My front garden is very sweet, and now I just can’t wait to put on our second storey, so I can give the house facade a much needed make over.

So that was my Drab to Fab challenge for this week. I have been inspired by Lucy to set mini goals creating fabulousness around my home, and for myself.

3 Responses

  1. Oh wow, just BEAUTIFUL. I love that lamp, and your gorgeous wall.

  2. I love that lamp too, Vanessa. It would give me such joy to come home to every day. Lucky you!

    Now, in answer to your questions over on my blog. ‘Followers’ (SUCH a silly term) are a Blogger phenomenon. They are called ‘Subscribers’ on other platforms. It’s just the people who like your blog enough to want to get updates whenever you post. You can read the blogs you ‘follow’ in a reader like Google Reader (Blogger has it’s own as well). I think having the badge on your site that shows how many followers you have is a bit naff, but I’ve never figured out a way for people to easily follow my blog WITHOUT having the number there, so there it stays.

    I’ll post this reply on my blog too in case anyone else wants to know.

    It’s always been a bit embarrassing for me because so many people follow my blog and I can’t explain why. I don’t know. It just is. And I’m happy. x

    • Thanks for the info. I follow several but haven’t linked to google reader so I have no idea when you post. That makes sense. I have a subscription thingo and get notified when someone subscribes but it is not visible on my blog. Your blog is no nonsense and pretty which is why I follow x

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

