• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,186 hits

Winter is here!

Rain has been forecast for the next five days or so. We have been looking forward to it since the end of last week. I ran myself ragged yesterday ‘preparing for the rain’. How weird is that??

Rain around here has been very rare. Perth dams are at 23% capacity and the last two times it has rained, I have felt that same feeling you feel when you are bone dry thirsty, and you drink a whole glass of water. The dry feeling in the back of my throat has been quenched, if only momentarily.

So with the prospect of a rainy week, I put a plan into action. I planted more climbing roses, weeded, mowed and planted lilipillies on the verge. I finished painting the metal rolladoor to our garage. No longer faded federation green, but a fresh coat of shale grey, to match the gutters of the house. I packed away outside toys which won’t be needed. I sorted through our garage which is underground and leaks. Imperative that all of the items were watertight and stacked. I mulched garden beds after applying wetting agent, hoping the sandy soils will take up the rain.

I rotated master x’s toys. I brought the sun shelter up from the garage with plans to set it up as a tent in the lounge room when cabin fever sets in, as well as the tub containing his large chugginton train set. I located our umbrellas and set them up near the front door. I kept the washing machine going all day to keep abreast of it.

I cleaned the pool and brought outside cushions in. I cleaned the house so that I can set myself one task-a-day while it rains, and treat myself to some blogging and scrapping time.

Well, the rain arrived as scheduled. We woke to cold, blustery rain. I had a skip in my step, feeling very chuffed with myself that I was organised. Bring it on I say. I packed lunchboxes with homemade chocolate and coconut muffins (fructose free) and freshly popped popcorn (just call me domestic goddess) and bundled my girls off to school, rugged up against the weather.

Master x and I completed an outing to the supermarket and came home to play trains and puzzles. As I sit here at my  computer, lamb shanks in lentil and onion stew are braising in the oven. A bottle of red wine sits patiently on the bench awaiting dinner time. I have completed my task for today – to clean my pantry, and as soon as I hit publish, I am off to scrapbook.

Don’t you just love the times in your life when everything is lined up? When you are ahead of the crazy game of life, and can just enjoy it?

Before I go, I will leave you with some photos taken last week. Playing in the sunshine at the park, a common event after we drop the girls off at school.

Leave a Reply

