• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,190 hits

Rekindled love affair

I made an appointment to see my chiropractor last Friday, for the first time in 14 months.

I had terrible neck pain following the birth of baby number three and had tried massage, physio and pilates to no avail. I tentatively made an appointment with a local chiropractor and after his gentle hands caressed my overtired body, I cried with the instant pain relief he provided. Seems a couple of wedges under my hips and resting for 30 seconds was all that was needed. Seems my pelvis was misaligned after carrying around a 4.5kg baby.

Treatment involved twice weekly visits for a few weeks, which was bliss given the workload a new baby brings to your body. Broken sleep, carrying baby in both arma and a sling, and of course the neck wrenching breastfeeding as you can’t take your eyes off your baby.

A few tweaks here and there and my body started to respond, meaning that it held it’s position better. The visits were scheduled less frequently and eventually I was looking forward to a monthly manipulation.

When baby became a demanding, wriggling, crawling distraction, I found the appointments too hard to schedule. My needs became secondary. As time went by though, I could feel that aches and tightness were returning. For about a fortnight I had an uncomfortable tightening in my neck again which eventually became painful. So I bit the bullet, and made an appointment.

Oh, how I had forgotten the touch of his hands! He seemed pleased to see me too. We bantered over the table as master x roamed the room, checking out the toys. He poked me here, prodded me there and gently pressed me somewhere else. Instant relief.

Homework was assigned, no vacuuming, no gardening, digging or mowing lawns (yeah, sure) and I will see you in five days.

With a skip in my step, I pushed the pram to my appointment yesterday. He could tell instantly that I had failed my homework (it was a long weekend, and the sun was out – what can I say?) Hey, and it only takes 30 seconds to right all the wrongs.

We are back to fortnightly dates, and I look forward to each and every one.

6 Responses

  1. Gotta love your chiro … and physio … and oh … I LOVE my masseuse …
    Found you via Drab 2 Fab.
    L

  2. Hello, nice to meet you via Drab2Fab, I have found chiro to be really helpful for a sore back… and just the idea of a lie down during the day is fantastic!

  3. As a girl who woke up this morning after a severe lack of sleep and a very sore neck, I am deeply jealous of your dates.

    I need to find me a chiropractor I think.

    Thanks for linking up to Drab to Fab!

    • Their techniques vary (even within the same practice) so ask friends and be prepared to try a couple if not happy. Cheers Vanessa

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Ooh. I think I want that man’s number! I’m going to find one for myself.

Leave a Reply

