• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,098 hits

Losing weight eating croissants and butter

Yes, that’s right. It is not a lose-weight-quick-scheme. It is not a fad diet or detox program. It is all about eating when hungry and eating real foods.

Post baby, I was having the usual problems losing the pregnancy and breastfeeding weight. To be honest, I was tipping the heavy end of my healthy weight range when I conceived. I started considering going back for another round of Weight Watchers, was following their recipes and many more from my Low Fat Cookbooks.

About 18 months ago, homme had emailed me the link to a podcast which was an interview with David Gillespie and he was talking about how sugar has entered our diet over the last Century or so. How with greater food storage and distribution, we are eating vastly more amounts of fruit sugars in our diets, as well as packaged lollies and chocolates. This interview sat in the back of my busy, sleep-deprived mind until last year I dug out the memory and googled David’s website.

I bought his second book, The Sweet Poison Quit Plan, and began reading. It changed my world. I implemented his guide to eating a low fructose diet on November the 1st last year and also played along with his theory that weight can be lost without exercising. Carefully following his easy to read guide, I emptied my pantry and fridge/freezer of high fructose foods and carried a cheat sheet of foods that can be eaten, in my purse when I went shopping.

I am not going to rewrite his book here except to say that he describes the insidious addition of fructose to so many of our foods by companies who are fully aware that it is as addictive as nicotine. He describes behavioural changes over the last century including how cereal was introduced post WW2 when women had entered the workforce and convenience and quick food was considered essential.

David writes about the fact that sugar is highly addictive and you will find yourself going through withdrawal when you remove it from your diet. He explains how to read food labels and determine which types of sugar are present and therefore to determine how much fructose you are consuming. Not that we ate a lot of it, but I had to actually put my book down and compare the labels on a bottle of bbq sauce and chocolate sauce when he stated in his book that the bbq sauce actually contains more sugar!!! He was right. The bbq sauce was always on the table at a bbq but I would always carefully consider allowing the kids chocolate sauce “as a treat”. How misinformed was I?

The most interesting concept in his book is written on the first page: ” Sugar makes you fat. It is converted directly to fat by your liver and it destroys your appetite control so that you want to eat more of everything. The more sugar you eat, the fatter you will be.”

In the first six weeks of following a low fructose diet, I lost 6kg. I did not feel like I was dieting, because we converted our hi lo milk to full fat, our margarine to butter, continued to eat only weetbix or porridge during the week (sans sultanas or honey), and treated ourselves to croissants with butter or bacon and eggs on the weekends. I was conscious not to cause an outcry in my home by eliminating sugary treats so I compensated with savoury home made snacks and desserts (we previously only ate dessert when we had guests).

I followed David’s advice on introducing the changes with children and maintained a low fructose diet in our home but gave the girls free reign outside of the home. Interestingly miss i who was aged 11 took it upon herself to read the book and opted to go cold turkey like me. Miss e was happy to eat sweet when offered by others. After two weeks of change, miss i had remarkable changes in her appearance. Her hair was no longer oily and lank, and her preteen skin cleared up so much so that she was receiving compliments from her friends who said her eyes were so blue and pretty. It was amazing.

I instantly noticed a lack of grazing in the home. No longer did the kids search for fruit, yoghurt, cheese and crackers or muesli bars to eat between meals. No longer did they ask for second helpings of dinner.

My own appetite was quelled. I felt calmer and relaxed. I found that if I indulged in afternoon tea with the kids, I could not eat dinner. My appetite control was back on and I did not think about my next meal. On a Saturday morning, I would indulge in a croissant with lashings of butter, and stop easily at one as I was full.

During the recent series of The Biggest Loser, I noticed the new trainer Tiffiny Hall mentioned to her team to eat zero sugar. I purchased her new book Weightloss Warrior and she describes in even more detail how fructose turns off your appetite control and how your body consumes it without ‘counting the calories’. By contrast, you get ‘nut bloat’ when you eat too many nuts, and we all know how overeating fat (fish and chips comes to mind) makes us feel. Very interesting read as she describes many hormones in our body and how they interact with fructose.

Eating low fructose comes easily to us all now. Even miss e declines the offer of a sweet as it gives us an instant headache and tastes sickly sweet. We substitute dextrose in our baking and do not feel deprived at all. I have lost a further 2kg and have incorporated running every second day into my routine which I love. I am back into my healthy weight range and feel great.

So, I have waited to share my story, as I needed to know that the changes described would in fact be true for me. That the weight would fall off steadily and stay off (over six months now), and that it is sustainable. I am now going to be really brave and share some before and after photos (be kind):

Most importantly, I have lost 9cm from my waist, 11cm from my thighs and 4cm from my bust.Oh, and my new jeans I am modelling are a size smaller!! I am telling my story as part of the fabulous Dimishing Lucy’s Drab to Fab Blog Hop.

7 Responses

  1. Good job of explaining the way you put David’s concept to the test. I am also a convert.
    I admire that you have the guts to do a before and after photo. You look great and it’s a pity that a photo can’t convey how much better you feel both physically and mentally.

  2. You can really see a difference in the hips and thighs. Well done for sticking to it.
    visiting from “drab to fab”

  3. Oh Vanessa, I am so inspired! I know that sugar is the cause of so many diseases, and yet we still put it in our mouths! Shame on us. I love that you’ve been honest, and I love that your daughter read the book too!

    We try to keep sugar out of our house, and the only treats we eat are the ones I make. That being said, there is sugar in it. But I now don’t purchase anything with preservatives and artifical colours/flavours.

    Hubby even bought me a thermomix for Mother’s Day (the best gift ever) and now I can make more things from scratch.

    Thank you for sharing the photos too. And I’m going to buy that book. xx

  4. This is a brilliant post. The summary of David Gillespie’s book is the first one that has made me think “I actually must read it…”!

    WELL DONE!

    The before and after shots speak volumes!

    And I am fascinated by the idea that the cutting of sugar leads to feeling calmer…

    Thank you for linking up to Diminishing Lucy’s Drab to Fab…

    xx

  5. Hey! I found you from the Drab to Fab bloghop, and am so happy! I’m a grad student studying to be a nutritional counselor (my blog is the Weight Loss From A Psych Point Of View) so this is fantastic! I love it when I find someone who gets it that a fad diet won’t get you anywhere! Great post!

  6. Looking great v! I agree with the concept of eating when hungry and the fact that certain foods/additives and sugars can make us feel like we are never full. The best choice I made in my life years ago was to eat what I call real food. I like to think I can make what I eat and by this I mean if it comes out of a box/can/bottle/packet, could I make it or identify the ingredients? I have never eaten low fat and when I cook it is with tamari not soy, olive oil not veggie and I always prefer to eat a little delicious feta over a handful of cheddar. I think substituting real food (like you are doing) over numbered ‘diet’ options is thekey to life long good weight management. It’s not about denying yourself but about loving real food more. Good going sis xxx

  7. Fantastic results …we cut out most refined sugar and wheat products and the weight around my belly has slowly come off. We eat mostly meat and vegis. And we still eat full fat dairy products. I love how sustainable this is.

    jana
    Now fruit is a treat rather than eating a cookie

Leave a Reply

