• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,367 hits

Day 17 I love a clean house

Yesterday I had miss i home from school recovering from a nasty bout of gastro the evening before. She was a bit tender and off her food but otherwise happy to entertain herself behind her beloved books. She is also representing her school at the 2010 Speaker’s Challenge tomorrow night, so made use of the time to polish off  her speech.

Master x had a wonderful three hour middle of the day sleep so I got stuck into housework. Sure I do the Daily Zip Around as I call it. I vacuum at least daily (easy to achieve when the vacuum reaches all corners of the house while plugged into one central powerpoint), endlessly tidy up the trail left by a 15 month old, have the washing machine running continuously and the dishwasher comes a close second. However yesterday I vacuumed wooden venetians, wiped down skirting boards and scrubbed the splashback and cupboard doors in the kitchen.

Why is it that these are the days when you traipse back home with three tired kids at 6.20pm after another round of ballet lessons (miss i sat out)knowing you are due back at school at 7pm for the monthly P&F meeting to learn miss e has emptied her sandpit-filled shoes on the bathroom floor, the one pot dinner you have assigned to homme is replaced with his desire to create a culinary masterpiece (read pan fried chicken splatter all over kitchen splashback), and the vintage dog has had another incontinent episode in the living room?

Well the reason I love a clean house is because the Daily Zip Around this morning righted all the wrongs in one quick hour. (In case you are wondering, the puddle of piddle was addressed pronto :))

2 Responses

  1. Wow – I’m lucky if I do a ‘weekly’ zip around!

    Then again, I’m rather jealous of you having a vacuum that can stay plugged into the one socket. Even in our tiny little house I have to lug the friggin’ thing all around!

Leave a Reply

