• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,405 hits

Day 13 I love to renovate

Serial renovator, that’s me. I am convinced it has something to do with the fact that my Dad was in the Army and therefore during my childhood we moved house 6 – 12 monthly. I am conditioned to pack, move and redecorate. If I haven’t moved house in a year or two, I get itchy feet to knock down walls, rip up tiles, paint…..

In between renovations, I change rooms around whenever I can. I have a couple of ‘little’ projects lined up for the upcoming school holidays to revamp a couple of bedrooms.

I am a before and after fan. I love to look through home renovation magazines and interior design books, my favourite articles having before and after photos.

We have made lots of improvements to our current home. Our home is very functional but small. I am finding myself ‘in the zone’ lately, drawing up plans for our second storey. I am really excited about incorporating design ideas we have used in the past, to make the most of this house. Having built a new kitchen before, and renovated four bathrooms, I now have firm ideas about what I like. In our last home I built my DREAM laundry and can’t wait to see if I will have the space to recreate it here. At the moment the front load washing machine is behind a cupboard door in the kitchen.

As small as our current kitchen is, it works brilliantly. Until recently, the study alcove was the only study area we had. We even had the printer/scanner/photocopier on the bench next to the coffee machine! I  learnt from our last home the benefits of having a homework zone in the kitchen area. Fact is that kids need help most when doing their homework and homework time in our home is the time I prepare dinner. I don’t remember a weeknight  when I was not sauteeing or stirring while reading out spelling words.

So here are our stage one kitchen before and after photos:

BEFORE

AFTER

Our little dining room is located where our old kitchen used to be.

One Response

  1. WOW – me likey!

Leave a Reply

