• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,087 hits

Day 7 I love gardens

My all thyme (like the play on words?) biggest dream was to visit Monet’s garden and I did so in 2008. It was a spontaneous, whirlwind trip to Nice and Paris with homme and his work. Homme travelled to Thailand after 6 days together, and I stayed on another three days by myself in Paris. I organised a bus trip to take me to Monet’s Garden.

I loved his little pink house and although I had been to the Louvre, Musee d’Orsay, Versaille and many other galleries and cathedrals, I loved so much more being in his tiny home. It seemed so personal with family photos still in place, and the wood of the bannister worn from use. The garden at the front of his house is amazing. It has a team of gardeners employed to tend it, and is a mass of perennial and annual colour. Row upon row of flowers and each row planted in a colour-wheel complimentary design.

I ventured outside the walls of the garden to find the water garden. I can honestly tell you that it took my breath away! Just like the paintings I have adored, and the print I own, it was picture perfect! It moved me more than any cathedral I had visited. I walked quietly and slowly, taking in the atmosphere. The perfect little Japanese inspired bridge, the willows hanging over the water, and the waterlillies. So breathtakingly beautiful. It was a spiritual experience for me.

I left France with a happy memory etched in my heart. I can’t wait to return and take homme and the kids to share the experience.

Anyone who has followed my blog knows that I love to garden. It has always been a physical outlet when I have a lot on my mind. I worked as a neonatal intensive care nurse for eleven years and after particularly painful days I would find myself furiously weeding or digging in my garden. Days of calm and happiness see me tip pruning or planting. There is always a chore in the garden that fits my mood at the time. Some plants in my garden are reminders of times, or of people which I keep close to me.

One Response

  1. Art galleries are wasted on me but I get a lot of joy from gardening. Thanks for such a good posting.

Leave a Reply

