• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • my passions

    my family** scrapbooking** photography** gardening** renovating** interior design**
  • Visitors

    • 20,186 hits

Day 6 I love scrapbooking

I have always had a love for pretty paper and ribbon. I came across the prettiest little shop called Ephemera about four years ago and met the gorgeous Claire who owned it. She was in her twenties, gorgeous, well travelled and a scrapbooker. I joined her group of customers/friends who met in the little room in the back to chat and scrap. I became addicted straight away!

I wouldn’t consider myself crafty and haven’t really attempted any other craft. Initially I bought scrapbooking magazines and attended classes to learn some techniques, but mostly I just copied layouts I saw on the internet or in magazines.

I have no desire to have my work published or to be on any design teams. I would feel too stressed thinking about deadlines or whether my layouts were good enough.

I have no system to most of my scrapbooking. I am honestly mostly inspired to start a layout by papers I love. I don’t scrap chronologically. I would feel too stressed by the sheer volume of photos I have yet to scrap of my life and my girls who were born  many years before I started scrapping.

Sometimes I take a beautiful photo, capturing a moment in our  lives, or an expression of one of my children and I am inspired to scrap that photo straight away. As I progress with my scrapbooking, I no longer feel so self critical to produce ‘the perfect’ layout and prefer just to capture the photos, memories and stories of my family in albums which they enjoy looking through.

I still attend the occasional class, and will be heading off on my first ever all weekend scrap retreat in
August. I enjoy the ‘me’ time that scrapbooking gives me. A time to quietly reflect and cut and paste, which like playing with play do, takes me back to a time of no responsibilities.

Leave a Reply

